Yes, you can disconnect your sponsor organization if you wish at any time.
To do this, open your account settings by tapping on the cog wheel icon (⚙) in the upper-right corner of the ME screen. Find your sponsor information select the "Disconnect" link. Approve the disconnection. This will set your account back to basic.
You can reconnect to another sponsor or purchase the application once you have disconnected.